General Information

Scoil Naomh Eoin is a mixed primary school. We are a school with a Catholic ethos, under the patronage of the Bishop of Cloyne and the auspices of the Department of Education and Skills, but we also have due recognition for all other religions.


School Opening Hours

    • School starts at 9:00am. Junior and Senior Infants finish school at 1.40pm and all other classes finish at 2:40pm.
    • Morning break is at 10:45am and lunchtime is 12:40pm.


School Uniform

The school uniform consists of:

      • a royal blue jumper / cardigan,
      • a royal blue tie,
      • a light blue shirt / blouse / or polo shirt
      • charcoal grey trousers / skirt or pinafore.
      • School crested tracksuit and white polo t-shirt


Late arrival and Early Collection of Students

School begins at 09:00am. Pupils are expected to be on time.  Parents/guardians must provide a note of explanation if a child needs to depart early during the school day. Parents/guardians must call to Reception when collecting a student early from the school.


Attendance Policy We understand that children get sick and we ask that you adhere to the school policy, that if a student is absent a note from you, the parents/guardians on the day your child returns to school, is required to explain each absence. There is a space for writing these notes, in the back of your child’s homework diary.


The school works to promote good attendance by creating a safe and welcoming environment. An ethos of inclusiveness and kindness is actively fostered and aims to ensure children are happy and learn to displaying kindness, compassion and understanding. Staff are vigilant so that risks to good attendance, such as disadvantage or bullying, are identified and resolved immediately.


School Buses

Bus Éireann organises the reservations of places for the Primary School Transport Scheme. To reserve your place on the bus and for more details please go to the Bus Éireann web site.


Our School Staff

Our staff consists of:

      • Principal – Mr. Colm Barry
      • Deputy Principal – Ms. Antoinette Duggan
      • Assistant Principal – Ms. Sinéad O’Connor
      • Class Teachers
      • Learning support/resource teacher
      • School Secretary
      • Caretaker
      • Cleaning Staff

For all enquiries, please email the school at


Our School’s Board of Management

The Board of Management is a valuable part of our school community. It provides leadership, advice and ensures effective management of the school. The Board works hard on behalf of the school’s pupils to create a safe, positive and progressive learning environment.


The Board consists of representatives of the patron, the parents and the teachers in the school as well as community representatives who have a particular interest or expertise. All members of the Board act together as a unit. Individuals do not act as representatives of various groups within the Board.


The following are the members of Scoil Naomh Eoin Board of Management for the current term of office 2023 – 2027


Patrons’ Representatives:

Regina Forrest (Chairperson), Darren Stack (Treasurer)


Parents’ Representatives:

Julieanne O’Riordan, Padjoe Barry


Two Community Nominees:

Norma Brady, Bill Connery


Teachers Representative:

Antoinette Duggan


School Principal: 

Colm Barry

This Board will sit for four years until Nov 2027.


Fundraising Committee for Scoil Naomh Eoin

To see some of the wonderful fundraising events held by our fundraising committee visit their Facebook page Ballincurrig School Fundraiser


Our School’s Parents Association

Scoil Naomh Eoin is lucky to have this voluntary group of parents who give generously of their time and expertise to help the school provide the best school experience possible for their children. They are always enthusiastic in providing support for Scoil Naomh Eoin.

Being part of the Parents Association is a wonderful way of being involved in your child’s school. It is a great way for parents to get to know each other too!

There is always room for more members – please contact Anne McCarthy or Sharon Guiry for details of when they are meeting. Whether you can volunteer to help with just one event or many you are most welcome.


Parents Association Committee:


Chair:                Annie Maher

Secretary:        Marie O’Riordan and Sabel Deacon

Treasurer:        Nina McCarthy

Parents Association Classroom Liaisons:

Classroom Liaisons: each class will have a parent who acts as a classroom liaison and can convey ideas, opinions and any general concerns to the school as necessary.


For more details about our Parents Association please contact any of the members or the school